2020 – 2021 Grant Winners

Over $49,000 Donated to LCSD1 for 2020-2021 School year

The Cheyenne School Foundation (CSF) announced the recipients of the 2020 Excellence in Education and Student Enrichment grants at the LCSD1 Board of Trustees Meeting held on October 19, 2020. Classroom teachers in Laramie County School District #1 (LCSD1) will receive $13,831.79 for 10 grants in 8 schools. Four schools will also receive $3,000 for their participation in the Run for #1 held on October 3rd.

The Foundation Board also announced a special funding initiative of $32,000.  The Board will be working with senior leadership at the District to determine how to best use the funds.

Funding for the grants comes from corporate sponsors, LCSD1 employees, participants in the Run for #1, and another generous gift from the Carlton Family. District employees contributed over $8,500 through their payroll deduction program.

Businesses that donated $3,000 or more were First Education Federal Credit Union,  Microsoft, and Taco John’s International. Jonah Bank of Wyoming donated $2,000.  Businesses that donated $1,000 or more were ANB Bank, Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Wyoming, Blue Federal Credit Union, Enterprise Holding Foundation, Front Range Roofing Systems, McGee, Hearne & Paiz, Hickey & Evans, and Simpson Electric. Corporate sponsorships totaled over $25,000.

The Cheyenne Schools Foundation was started in 1995 and gives grants directly to classroom  teachers in LCSD1 for projects that are beyond the capacity of the school district’s budget. To date, CSF has raised more than $650,000 to support district students.

2020 Excellence in Education Grants
($3,000 maximum)

Social and Emotional Readers & Lending Library
Rossman Elementary , Brenda Jenkins
Sponsor:  ANB Bank & Laramie County School District 1 Employees

Blooming through Adversity
Hobbs Elementary , Ron Morgan
Sponsor:  The Carlton Family

Closing the Literacy Gap
Hebard Elementary , Chris Hays
Sponsor:  First Education Federal Credit Union

Creating a “COVID Certified” STEM Lab
Hebard Elementary , Julie Kramer
Sponsor:  Taco Johns International

2020 Student Enrichment Grants  (maximum $1,000)

Social Emotional Learning – Library Collection Development
Deming/Miller Elementary, Meagan Baker
Sponsor: Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Wyoming

Math, Science & Writing with Amaryllis Bulbs
Rossman Elementary, Brenda Jenkins
Sponsor: Front Range Roofing Systems

Letter Writing to an Elder
Cole Elementary, Ginny Jordan
Sponsor:  Jonah Bank of Wyoming

Family Game Night
Alta Vista Elementary, Alison Paniagua
Sponsor: Blue Federal Credit Union

STEAM Robots
Miller Elementary, Sarah Lenhart & Eric Paulson
Sponsor:  McGee, Hearne & Paiz

Dream Big, Sparkle More, Shine Bright
Cheyenne Virtual School, Marti Derringer
Sponsor: Simpson Electric

Run for #1 Participation Awards

  • The schools with the highest percentage of student participation were Dildine Elementary, Johnson Junior High, and Triumph High.
  • The schools that raised the most money were Dildine Elementary, Johnson Junior High, and Central High.
  • They will receive $500 for each of these accomplishments.

Thank You

The CSF Board thanks everyone that helped make our first virtual only event a success. It could not have been done without the support of our community.